Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Thursday, January 31, 2013

Project Pan: Sixteenth Product Completed: Oscar Blandi Invisible Voluminzing Dry Shampoo Spray

It's that time again! I finished another product towards my Project 20 Pan. The product I finished was the Oscar Blandi Invisible Voluminzing Dry Shampoo Spray. Oscar Blandi describes this products as being able to cleans the hair without water, instantly boost volume, be great for all hair colours, and spray clear.

I have to admit, it did do most of those. The problem? It didn't cleanse my hair/ my hair still looked oily. I tried repeatedly to get this to work because I wanted to love it but it just didn't get the job done. Needless to say, I will not be repurchasing this product again.

What's your favourite dry shampoo for dark hair?

Sunday, January 6, 2013

Lush Bath Bomb in Phoenix Rising

After a long few days back at work after the holidays I decided to treat myself to yet another bath. I decided to use my Lush Bath Bomb in Phoenix Rising. It has a wonderful scent (apple and cinnamon) that helped to wake me up.

This is what it looks like:

Immediately when I put it in the water it began to fizz and consume the water. I love that it sunk to the bottom and seemed to erupt. I guess that's why it was called Phoenix Rising.

This was the final result. My purple bath.

I would definitely repurchase this product again. It melted fast, had a great scent, and was entertaining :)

Have you tried this product before?

Friday, January 4, 2013

Project Pan: Ninth Product Completed: Zeno Hot Spot Blemish Clearing Device

I seem to be on a roll. Last night I tried to use my Zeno Hot Spot Blemish Clearing Device only to find out that I had already completely used it up. You're probably thinking "How did you not know it was done?". Well that's because it's a device and not a cream or lotion. You only get 80 uses out of it, so it's hard to keep track. I was pretty disappointed to see this go as it was quite expensive. It's regular price is $50, but I got it for $39.99 (still not cheap!). This product claims to use heat to kill bacteria that causes blemishes and yet still be gentle on the skin. It only claims to work on break outs and not cystic acne, so be weary.

I'm not sure if it's all in my head but I feel like this helped to reduce my pimples caused by every woman's favourite time of the month. I felt it reduced healing time. When using this product be sure you follow the instructions that indicate only using it every 3 hours. I made the mistake of trying to do one treatment right after I had just finished and I had a mark for a while. Do I think this is a miracle product? No. Would I buy this again? Probably. Mostly because I've never found anything else to help reduce my time of the month break-outs quite the same.

What's your favourite way to reduce break-outs?

Thursday, January 3, 2013

Project Pan: Eighth Product Completed: Olay Silk Whimsy Moisturizing Body Wash

Last night I took a shower and finished my eighth product. The product I finished was the Olay Silk Wimsy Moisturizing Body Wash. It has a light floral scent (rose) that made me feel super feminine. I actually like to top this body wash with my Chanel Chance Eau Tendre eau de toilette. Not only was is a good moisturizing cleanser, it was great for shaving and as a bubble bath.

I like to use this body wash in the winter as it is super hydrating. We can thank the almond oil extract (rich in Vitamin E) for that. In the summer I prefer the shower gel (with the same scent) just because I find it fresher. I would definitely repurchase this product again.

What's your favourite body wash?

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Lush Bubble Bar in Christmas Eve

Happy New Year everyone! Today I decided to treat myself to a nice bath using the Lush Bubble Bar in Christmas Eve. I figured I'd start the New Year by relaxing.

This is what is looks like:

I was very excited to try this product as it was very highly rated on Lush's site and is sold out. I loved the jasmine and ylang ylang scent it have off and I felt super moisturized. The only downside to this product was the lack of bubbles or colour.

This product took FOREVER to melt and made very few bubbles. I sat there for quite some time just waiting.

When it was finally done, the water didn't change colour very much. It had just a slight purple tint.

Overall, although it had a nice scent, I would not repurchase this product again. I was hoping for more of a WOW factor in terms of aesthetics. That is why I buy lush bubble bars and baths bombs after all.

What's your favourite Lush Bubble Bar?

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

As Requested: Reviews and Dupes from My Most Expensive Face- Skincare Edition

I was requested to do reviews and dupes for some of the products from My Most Expensive Face- Skin Care Edition. This is going to prove to be quite difficult for me because I haven't tried a lot of drug store brands, so I might cheat and just use some less expensive alternatives.

Eye makeup remover: 
Biotherm Biocils Lash Optimizer- $31
This dual phased product is supposed to removed stubborn eye makeup and condition lashes. I agree that this is a fantastic eye makeup remover, but I don't know how well it "conditions" my lashes. This expensive eye makeup remover could easily be replaced with:
Neutrogena Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover that's only $6.99

Clarins Gentle Exfoliator Brightening Toner- $34
This product is an exfoliating toner so there isn't much to compare it to. It uses fruit acids from tamarind to exfoliate and white nettle to tighten pores. It's very gentle on the skin so I can even use it when I have a cold and my noses is sore and full of dead skin. The only thing I can compare this to, but do not prefer, is the Clinique Clarifying Lotion in Level 3 for $16. It has a lot more chemicals in it and is definitely not as gentle.

Day Cream: 
Dr. Brandt's Pores No More Anti-Ageing Mattifying Lotion- $60
This lotion contains apple stem cells to fight signs of ageing and retinol to stimulate cell turnover and keep lines at bay. It also helps to reduce pores and keep the skin mattified throughout the day. I also like the yellow colouring of the product to instantly reduce some redness. What's a cheaper alternative? The Olay Professional Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol and the entire set is only $40. The set includes the cleanser, toner, and lotion. This product uses Salicyclic acid to fight breakout and Ginseng to fight lines. I personally find retinol to be more effective ingredient but if you are sensitive to that, try Olay.

Night Serum: 
Neostrata's Skin Brightener - $72.50
This intensive serum contains 20% Vitamin C. This helps to fight discolorations in the skin but is VERY strong on the skin and you will see a vast improvement after the first couple of nights. This product is not for anyone with sensitive skin. A cheaper alternative to this is the Body Shop's Vitamin C Skin Booster- $26. It uses Vitamin C and E to brighten and soften the skin, as well as brazil nut oil to hydrate the skin. If you have sensitive, dry skin, choose the Body Shop option, if you want to see results fast, use Neostrata.

I have to admit, this was a tough challenge for me. Some of the products on the list I bought because I found them unique. These were the best dupes I could give as I have at least tried all these.

Are there any other products that you want me to find a dupe for?

Sunday, November 11, 2012

Seventh Product Completed: Clarins Toning Lotion with Iris

Last night I finished my seventh product. I finished my Clarins Toning Lotion with Iris. This is not a product that I'm happy to see go but it will force me to use some of my other already started toners. This toner is alcohol free, not super drying, doesn't cause me to break out. It has a nice scent, without being heavily fragranced. I have to say, I enjoyed this toner.

I will definitely EVENTUALLY be repurchasing this product. I have 3 other toners still at home that are half-finished that I need to get through before I can justify repurchasing this one. I'm one of those people that NEEDS to use a toner, otherwise I notice a huge difference in my skin. Having combination skin, balancing oil (especially around my large pored nose) has always been difficult. Using a toner has always helped me with that.

Do you use toner? What's your favourite?

Friday, September 28, 2012

First Product Completed: Clarins One-Step Gentle Exfoliating Cleanser

I am very excited this morning! I finished my first product for my project pan! The product I finished was the Clarins One-Step Gentle Exfoliating Cleanser. I usually use this product about 3 times per week in the shower. This is a great exfoliator that gets rid of make-up and dead skin and that I will definitely repurchase in the future once I have finished all my other exfoliators. 

The main ingredients in this product are Moringa Seed Extract, which helps to restore the skins radiance as well as purifying the skin, as well as Orange Extract, which is great for refreshing and toning the skin. 

I have repurchased this product quite a few times and am very pleased. I love the soft, effective texture, I love the way my skin feels after, and of course, I love the scent. The orange extract in the product is really refreshing.

What’s your favourite exfoliator?